Ghost Girl

August 2021

Ghost Girl by Ally Malinenko, "spine-chilling" -J.A. White, Author of Nightbooks and The Shadow School Series

Perfect for fans of Small Spaces and Nightbooks, this middle-grade debut is an empowering and triumphant ghost story—with spooky twists sure to give readers a few good goosebumps!

Preorder Ghost Girl through Bookshop.org, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and with your local library. Add it to your reading lists on Goodreads and leave a review!


Zee Puckett loves ghost stories. She just never expected to be living one. It all starts with a dark and stormy night. When the skies clear, everything is different. People are missing. There’s a creepy new principal who seems to know everyone’s darkest dreams. And Zee is seeing frightening things: large, scary dogs that talk and maybe even . . . a ghost.

When she tells her classmates, only her best friend, Elijah, believes her. Worse, mean girl Nellie gives Zee a cruel nickname: Ghost Girl. But whatever the storm washed up isn’t going away. Everyone’s most selfish wishes start coming true in creepy ways.

To fight for what’s right, Zee will have to embrace what makes her different and what makes her Ghost Girl. And all three of them — Zee, Elijah, and Nellie — will have to work together if they want to give their ghost story a happy ending.


Ghost Girl is a wondrous mix of mystery, empowering adventure, and spooky scares about a most unusual girl and the strange nightmares she must conquer. It’s the kind of ghost story that helps readers overcome their fears while putting them on the edge of their seats. ‒ Joe Ballarini, author of The Babysitter’s Guide to Monster Hunting

Ghost Girl is a grand buffet for any lover of spooky tales. Within its pages you’ll find a misty graveyard, creepy hounds, terrifying spirits, moonlit chases—and a silver-tongued villain who will send chills down your spine.  At the center of it all is a winning protagonist and a heartfelt message about staying true to yourself and the power of friendship. Read it with a cup of hot cocoa on a dark and stormy night! ‒ J. A. White, author of Nightbooks and the Shadow School series

Ghost Girl will haunt your heart (and you’ll thank her!). Whether you’re a fan of ghost stories, fun/spooky mysteries, or books with all the feels, you’re sure to love Ally Malinenko’s fabulous debut novel about acceptance and the incredible power of friendship. Sign me up for the sequel! ‒ Ryan Calejo, author of the Charlie Hernández series

Malinenko has crafted a vivid portrait of what it’s like to be young and scared, even as she reminds you that fear can only win if you let it. A good horror novel should plunge you into darkness, but it should also guide you back toward the light. Ghost Girl—just like its heroine—absolutely rises to the challenge. ‒ Alison Ames, author of To Break A Covenant

A creepy, addicting story that kept me up at night! This chilling mystery has thoughtful portrayals of family and friendship, nail-biting moments, a terrifying villain and wonderful storytelling that will surely delight fans of spooky tales. ‒ Daka Hermon, author of Hide and Seeker


This Appearing House


Sarah Schonfeld at Harper Collins/Tegen has bought THIS APPEARING HOUSE by GHOST GIRL author Ally Malinenko. Pitched as A Monster Calls-esque story navigating the effects of trauma and illness, the novel follows a girl and her best friend who get trapped inside a haunted house that turns out to be a lot more than what it seems. Publication is scheduled for Summer 2022. Rena Rossner at the Deborah Harris agency negotiated the deal for North American rights ‒ Publisher’s Weekly